Weekly Update (27/3/16)

Weekly word count (as of 7:38pm): 4275

Currently reading: Vampires, Burial and Death by Paul Barker

Manuscript Word Count: 86531

I had a bit of a brainwave regarding my manuscript earlier in the week and cut out a lot of the ending chapters. I felt those were the weakest. They were just winding down to the ‘sequel hook’ and there wasn’t much meat in it. I could probably cut out even more from the ending but we’ll see when I get there.

I haven’t got a start date for my new job yet and it will apparently be a Monday when it comes so it’s safe to assume that I’ve got a free week ahead of me. I had an almost free week this week, apart from a few unavoidable commitments, and used that time to finish the first draft of my latest short story. Unfortunately, it petered off into nothing and I had little idea of how to finish it or how to get to the ending. So, I’ve started a second draft and it’s looking a bit better already.

I spotted a novel competition run by Random House in a post from a blog I’m following. It looked like a long shot but I didn’t have anything to lose by entering. I prepared my first chapter of ‘A Waking Dream’ and wrote a synopsis but then I re-read the terms and conditions and found that it wasn’t for children’s novels, which would include young adult books. Ah well, you always have to read the small print. Still, I’ve got an opening chapter and a synopsis ready for any competitions that would take a YA book.

I’ll post a short version of the synopsis on this site to see what you think of my synopsis writing skills and whether you think ‘A Waking Dream’ sounds interesting or not.

Leave a Reply

