Weekly Update (22/05/2015)

Weekly Word Count: 2376

Currently reading: Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey

Final Manuscript Word Count: 75,156

Yep, I’ve done it! I’ve finally got to the end of editing my manuscript!

I think I’ve got it down to quite a respectable amount too. As I said in a previous post, the first Harry Potter novel was about 3,000 words more than this so I think I’m within the limits of young adult quite comfortably. Not to mention, I’m so relieved to have the burden of editing off my back. At least, for now *glances uncomfortably at my second novel and pile of unfinished short stories*.

At least, that’s what I think. Now, it’s up to competition judges and agents to decide. I’ve already got my eye on the mslexia Children’s Novel competition and I’ve got a couple of agents lined up to contact in the next few weeks.

In the meantime, I’ll continue on with the May Book Prompts and work on my second novel too, though I think I might start that over as I want to go back to the beginning and adjust a few aspects. Or, I might leave that until another round of editing. I’ll see how this current chapter speeds.

Leave a Reply

