Weekly Update (05/06/2016)

Weekly Word Count: 3159

Currently reading: The Secret Circle by L.J. Smith (I’m near the end and I’m rather glad of it as I’m getting tired of the constant cliches)

Well, it’s been a profitable week for sending off my manuscript. Not only have I sent it off the CinnamonPress Children’s Novel Competition but, only an hour ago, I’ve sent off the first three chapters to Curtis Brown Creative. I won’t lie, it’s quite a relief to send it off after having it hanging over my head for so long and my self-doubt using it to beat me over the head for not sending it sooner. Do you guys have that problem when something is ready to send off but, for one reason or another, can’t pluck up the courage to do so and thus beat yourself up for it at the same time?

Still, my self-doubt has a point. It seems that the only way to get published is through an agent rather than approaching publishers directly so there’s no reason to put it off. I’ve scoured Google and made a list of half a dozen agents. I’ll aim to send off my manuscript to at least one agent per week and, next to each name, I’ve put two boxes, one labelled ‘sent?’ and one labelled ‘accepted?’, and I’ll tick (or cross) them off as time (and rejections) go by.

That list is tacked on my noticeboard next to the monthly Achievement Charts I get from Writer’s Forum (which are very effective at keeping track of word counts and submissions, by the way) so it’s always there reminding me. No excuses now!

Leave a Reply

