Weekly Update (12/06/2016)

Weekly Word Count (as of 4:50pm): 5497

Currently reading: Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett (I’m really enjoying the elements of Macbeth parody)

I’ve had an excellent week this week in terms of word count. I find that I can manage this by working on more than one project per day. I always prioritise my novels as they’re always going to require more work but, once I start losing focus and drifting off in the direction of Youtube, I open up a new document and start working on a new one. I think that was why the May Book Prompts gave me a boost with my novel. It helped clear my mind somewhat and come at the novel fresh. I’ve also managed to send off my novel to another agent today and this one has a shorter timescale than the first so I should hopefully get my first response from an agent in a few weeks. Even if it’s a rejection, I have to stay positive.

That said, my novel’s run into a bit of trouble again. I’m building up to a big confrontation that will turn the tide of the story but I have to go through a pretty tedious heart-to-heart between my main character and one of his main friends. I want it to be heart-warming but, at the same time, I really don’t want to be writing it. I’ll just have to push on ahead and try and get it out of the way. I can always delete it afterwards during editing if it really isn’t pushing the story forward. Hey, better to have a scene and not need it than not have a scene and need it, right?

Leave a Reply

