Weekly Update (03/06/2016)

Weekly Word Count: 5505

Currently (re)reading: The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason

Going away for a bit certainly can help your writing, so long as you don’t get too distracted. I was away this weekend, visiting my brother, and, though the hotel had wifi, I managed to control myself this time. My worst day of that weekend was Saturday but that was because we were out all day and I got back to the hotel room pretty late so I really had to push myself to finish my Vampire Hunter D review.

Yes, it is finished. I redrafted it on the journey home and it’s turned out a little longer than I expected. Mostly, due to the Character part of the CROWS system. I wanted to explain myself properly for each important character and I felt I couldn’t take any bits out.

One thing I did edit this weekend was my first novel’s manuscript. During the journey to my brother’s, I got the pretty drastic idea of chopping off the first chapter. It is just exposition and setting the scene really. I felt at first that it had a few important character introduction but, on reflection, I decided I could do without them. Besides, most readers seem to prefer being dumped in the middle of the action so I lopped off the first chapter and sent it off like that to another agent. Hope it pays off.

I’ll publish my Vampire Hunter D Volume 1 review straight after I’ve published this post so feel free to tell me if you agree or disagree or if there’s something in it that’s completely flown over my head. Oh, and I’ve decided to alter the scoring system a bit as, on reflection, I found that doubling the score was unnecessary so, now, each book can score a maximum of 50 points (or drops).

Next up to be picked apart by CROWS is The Rest Falls Away by Colleen Gleason.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update (03/06/2016)

    1. Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve popped it on my ‘to-read’ list and I hope I’ll get around to reading and perhaps even reviewing it soon.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

