Ten Little Teacups

Here’s the short story I sent to the Writer’s Forum Short Story competition. Though I didn’t win, I’d like to post it here to gain your feedback on it. Here’s an extract below:

‘Well, damn.

Just one cup left, one cup that had survived and now that was gone. Just a set of anonymous shards of the floor. Damn shaking hand. Damn unyielding back. I can’t even pick up the pieces now.

Ten cups with blue rims I had bought in the tea set when I was six. I hadn’t accepted the tiny plastic set I received for my birthday. Even at that small age, I had started saving up money in the small nooks and crannies of my room. Back then, mothers didn’t clean their kids’ rooms. The kids had to do it themselves but that was alright really. It meant you had an easier time of hiding things.’

Read the full story here

One thought on “Ten Little Teacups

Leave a Reply

