Weekly Update (21/08/2016)

Weekly Word Count: 2464

Manuscript Word Count: 69,525

Currently (re)reading: Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

My most productive days, writing-wise, were down to me working on my review rather than my writing. Though I enjoy writing these reviews, I’m starting to worry that they’re overtaking my novels and my short stories. And, I think I left starting re-reading my next book a little too late. I’m not even halfway through the book yet, let alone close to starting the review. I’ll try to make that a priority but I have to remember to write every day as well. Perhaps, I should do separate word counts in my updates for fiction and reviews to motivate me.

That said, I will post my next review of P.C. and Kristin Cast’s Marked right after this update.

I’m now nearly halfway through updating my manuscript. As you can see, I’ve brought back the manuscript word count to give me some motivation. Most of it was done today when I had a bit more time on my hands. I’m keeping up the pacing audit but, even without that, I’m starting to feel that the middle is really lacking something. Yes, there’s online abuse which is a pretty serious topic but I don’t feel I’m doing it justice. Perhaps, I ought to introduce the vampires earlier. It’s clear from the get-go that vampires are heavily involved in the story so there’s no point dragging on the dramatic irony until it gets tiresome. It’s a trap a lot of writer’s fall into and I don’t intend to be one of them.

Leave a Reply

