Weekly Update (18.09.2016)

Currently (re)reading: Guilty Pleasures by Laurell K Hamilton

Weekly Word Count: 2321

Manuscript Word Count: 69303

Review Word Count: 2877

I really did my latest review in a bit of a rush. Re-reading Night World Volume 1 took a lot longer than expected and there was a lot of fact-checking involved so the Research part required a lot of work. Still, I managed to finish it and redraft it by grabbing whatever spare minutes I had. I even managed to work on my manuscript a bit. I think I’ve nearly finished the scene I’ve been writing and am ready to get back to going through the rest of the story. Past time, really. I’ve started reading my next book and another issue is the amount of post-its I use to mark notable passages. The fact is I’m using far too many of them and it’s becoming a hassle to check all of them. So, for my next book review, I’m trying to be a bit more circumspect.

As for my second novel, it’s just come to the end of another action scene and starting to come down to a more ‘reality ensues’ level where the main character finds out that he has actually made the situation a whole lot worse by his actions by going off on his own with his vampire companion without consulting any other law enforcement agency and expecting to bring the criminals to justice on his own. I’m trying to incorporate as much ‘reality ensues’ moments in this book as possible to try and combat some of the many unrealistic cliches in the vampire genre. It might make the vampire genre a bit more respectable, which is my ultimate goal.

As always, I’ve posted my review of Night World Volume 1 and I’ll put a link to it in my next blog post.

Hmm…I’m starting to think I should have my own greeting and farewell in each blogpost but I can’t think of one at present. Maybe, I’ll have some headspace for it next week.

Leave a Reply

