Guilty Pleasures

It took me a long time to get around to reading any of the Anita Blake books and, when I first read it, I wasn’t overly enthused. Going back now with a critical eye, I think I like it a bit better.

Here’s an extract:

Character

First off, I have to say it. The author rather overwhelmed us with characters and, while she did develop the core ones into individuals, I found myself asking ‘what, who’s this person again’ quite a few times.

Now that’s out of the way, let’s get straight to Anita Blake, former vampire hunter and present animator (the boring term for a professional necromancer). She’s the classic world-weary hero we see in so many other books and, with her past, we can hardly blame her for having a strong dislike of vampires and the fairly recent acceptance of vampirism going on around her.’

Read the whole review here

Leave a Reply

