Weekly Update (26.03.2017) Of Short Stories and Sickness

Currently reading: Angel of Storms by Trudi Canavan

Novel Weekly Word Count: 3905

Short Story Weekly Word Count: 464

Review Word Count: 566

Fanfiction Word Count: 717

As you can see, I’ve decided to add a few more word counts to my weekly updates to give both you and me a better idea of what I’m writing over the week. As you see, I did rather well with my novel this week. Unfortunately, though I’ve written a lot (I decided to raise my minimum daily word count to 500 on weekdays), I don’t think I’ve progressed very far in the story. I believe that so much that I decided to stop working on the scene I’m working on and skip ahead to another one. I don’t know if that’s smart writing or laziness. After all, I’m going to have to go back  What do you guys think? It’s certainly bump-started the novel a tiny bit.

Speaking of my novel, as promised, I’ve posted the first 1000 words of the first chapter of the first few drafts of my first novel. The scene in question has since been deleted for the sake of tightening up the novel and reducing its word count. You can read it here and tell me what you think of it in the comments.

I was making good progress over the weekend and I might have hit 1000 words on Saturday if I hadn’t been struck down by illness. I’m fortunate enough to have never been seriously ill so that I can’t write or at least do something more active than watch Youtube videos. This time, however, I was really knocked sideways by it. Terrible stomach pains made it too painful to even sit at my computer, let alone focus on any writing. I’ll spare you the less pleasant details but I don’t think it’s too serious. It may have been a pulled muscle from over-enthusiastic ab exercises but, whatever it was, I’m better now and made up for it by putting as much as I could into my writing today. Still, I am very annoyed at the time I’ve lost.

I’ve decided to have a go at writing short stories again. This time, I’m using it to explore a few elements of vampirism that I probably won’t get round to in later novels. This should be good practise at least. I’ll have a look around for any magazines that might be interested in those stories but, in the meantime, if anyone knows of a likely place, I’d be happy to be directed to it.

Leave a Reply

